Following the bible. That’s obvious.  Do not add or subtract. Use a real bible.  Compare the bible being used with KJV, NKJV, ASV.  NIV, although it may miss some verses (such as Ps 83:18) is easier to understand.  Revised English Version (www.revisedenglishversion.com) is a complete Bible although it is almost similar to New World (except it uses “Yahweh” and only in the Old Testament) and what is done in the text is verses not in the Kingdom Interlinear are in gray.  Does the bible you use contain extra verbiage?  There are arguments about “anything other than this translation is of Satan.”  On one end you have hardcore JW who say that anything other than NWT is not a real bible (some of the more moderate will admit they use all bibles and a couple say they use ASV because NWT contains a lot of errors) and the other side is KJV-only Fundamentalists.

Revelation 22:18-19New International Version (NIV)

18 I warn everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this scroll: If anyone adds anything to them, God will add to that person the plagues described in this scroll. 19 And if anyone takes words away from this scroll of prophecy, God will take away from that person any share in the tree of life and in the Holy City, which are described in this scroll.

Must not hate your brother or sister.  This is written in 1 John 3:15 and 1 John 4:20

1 John 3:15King James Version (KJV)

15 Whosoever hateth his brother is a murderer: and ye know that no murderer hath eternal life abiding in him.

1 John 4:20King James Version (KJV)

20 If a man say, I love God, and hateth his brother, he is a liar: for he that loveth not his brother whom he hath seen, how can he love God whom he hath not seen?

Do not use filthy words or insults:

1 Peter 3:8-10New International Version (NIV)

Finally, all of you, be like-minded, be sympathetic, love one another, be compassionate and humble. Do not repay evil with evil or insult with insult. On the contrary, repay evil with blessing, because to this you were called so that you may inherit a blessing. 10 For,

“Whoever would love life
    and see good days
must keep their tongue from evil
    and their lips from deceitful speech.

Colossians 3:8King James Version (KJV)

But now ye also put off all these; anger, wrath, malice, blasphemy, filthy communication out of your mouth.

Does not judge others.  Only God can judge.

Romans 2:1New International Version (NIV)

You, therefore, have no excuse, you who pass judgment on someone else, for at whatever point you judge another, you are condemning yourself, because you who pass judgment do the same things.

John 15 says quite a bit of it (including bringing people to Christ):

John 15King James Version (KJV)

15 I am the true vine, and my Father is the husbandman. Every branch in me that beareth not fruit he taketh away: and every branch that beareth fruit, he purgeth it, that it may bring forth more fruit. Now ye are clean through the word which I have spoken unto you. Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in me. I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing. If a man abide not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered; and men gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are burned. If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you. Herein is my Father glorified, that ye bear much fruit; so shall ye be my disciples. As the Father hath loved me, so have I loved you: continue ye in my love. 10 If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my Father’s commandments, and abide in his love. 11 These things have I spoken unto you, that my joy might remain in you, and that your joy might be full. 12 This is my commandment, That ye love one another, as I have loved you. 13 Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. 14 Ye are my friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you. 15 Henceforth I call you not servants; for the servant knoweth not what his lord doeth: but I have called you friends; for all things that I have heard of my Father I have made known unto you. 16 Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it you. 17 These things I command you, that ye love one another. 18 If the world hate you, ye know that it hated me before it hated you. 19 If ye were of the world, the world would love his own: but because ye are not of the world, but I have chosen you out of the world, therefore the world hateth you. 20 Remember the word that I said unto you, The servant is not greater than his lord. If they have persecuted me, they will also persecute you; if they have kept my saying, they will keep yours also. 21 But all these things will they do unto you for my name’s sake, because they know not him that sent me. 22 If I had not come and spoken unto them, they had not had sin: but now they have no cloak for their sin. 23 He that hateth me hateth my Father also. 24 If I had not done among them the works which none other man did, they had not had sin: but now have they both seen and hated both me and my Father. 25 But this cometh to pass, that the word might be fulfilled that is written in their law, They hated me without a cause. 26 But when the Comforter is come, whom I will send unto you from the Father, even the Spirit of truth, which proceedeth from the Father, he shall testify of me: 27 And ye also shall bear witness, because ye have been with me from the beginning

Mark 16:15King James Version (KJV)

15 And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.

Bring them in and let them hear the words of God.

Accepting people for who they are. Here are a couple things that may be a touchy subject:

You are a parent and your son or daughter comes out gay or lesbian.  The parents and grandparents reacted in a violent manner and disowned the young man.  This is not Christian behavior from so-called “Christians.”  This also applies to shunning a family member because of religious belief.

There are accounts of people who have committed suicide because of being shunned or disowned.  Once someone commits suicide, all bets are off for salvation.  How many have heard of being an accessory to a crime?  Guess who is going to join that person in the lake of fire?  In a court of law, if you tell somebody to pull the trigger, you go to prison along with the person who actually pulled it.

“Thou shalt not kill” – it refers to intentional killing of another person or oneself. There are passages of sacrificing animals or killing for food.

Matthew 5:21King James Version (KJV)

21 Ye have heard that it was said of them of old time, Thou shalt not kill; and whosoever shall kill shall be in danger of the judgment:

Acts 16:27-28King James Version (KJV)

27 And the keeper of the prison awaking out of his sleep, and seeing the prison doors open, he drew out his sword, and would have killed himself, supposing that the prisoners had been fled. 28 But Paul cried with a loud voice, saying, Do thyself no harm: for we are all here.

How about this: if your father or mother is an atheist? They are still your parents.

Exodus 20:12King James Version (KJV)

12 Honour thy father and thy mother: that thy days may be long upon the land which the Lord thy God giveth thee.

If they tell you to give up your faith, then you don’t have to obey them.

John 8:1-7,10-11 King James Version (KJV)

Jesus went unto the mount of Olives. And early in the morning he came again into the temple, and all the people came unto him; and he sat down, and taught them. And the scribes and Pharisees brought unto him a woman taken in adultery; and when they had set her in the midst, They say unto him, Master, this woman was taken in adultery, in the very act. Now Moses in the law commanded us, that such should be stoned: but what sayest thou? This they said, tempting him, that they might have to accuse him. But Jesus stooped down, and with his finger wrote on the ground, as though he heard them not. So when they continued asking him, he lifted up himself, and said unto them, He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her.

10 When Jesus had lifted up himself, and saw none but the woman, he said unto her, Woman, where are those thine accusers? hath no man condemned thee? 11 She said, No man, Lord. And Jesus said unto her, Neither do I condemn thee: go, and sin no more.

This passage is missing in the NWT.  This is what Jesus would do.

Do not wish bad luck on another person nor rejoice in his/her demise:

Job 31:28-30King James Version (KJV)

28 This also were an iniquity to be punished by the judge: for I should have denied the God that is above. 29 If I rejoice at the destruction of him that hated me, or lifted up myself when evil found him: 30 Neither have I suffered my mouth to sin by wishing a curse to his soul.

Do you think God is going to answer a prayer to curse your detractors or enemies? Is God pleased when one rejoices over an adversary’s death?

Matthew 5:43-48King James Version (KJV)

43 Ye have heard that it hath been said, Thou shalt love thy neighbour, and hate thine enemy. 44 But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you; 45 That ye may be the children of your Father which is in heaven: for he maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust. 46 For if ye love them which love you, what reward have ye? do not even the publicans the same? 47 And if ye salute your brethren only, what do ye more than others? do not even the publicans so? 48 Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect.

 

 

 

